IBSF World Snooker Championships 2019

Three World Snooker Championship titles were decided in Antalya, Turkey

Muhammad Asif of Pakistan, Ng On Yee from Hong Kong and Suckakree Poomjang of Thailand are the winners in their respective categories of Men, Women and Masters.

The Aim Frame
Learn Potting Angles in Seconds!

The championships were held in Antalya, the coastal city of Turkey at the Starlight Hotel Resorts and there was a record participation of 219 players for Men, Women and Masters from a total of 40 countries.

For Muhammad Asif this is his second Men’s world title after his first in 2012. Women’s winner Ng On Yee of Hong Kong won her 3rd world title after wins in 2009 and 2010. In the Masters category, Suckakree Poomjang of Thailand won his maiden world snooker title.

World Champion or not World Champion?

Although the IBSF is recognised as the member representing snooker by the World Confederation of Billiards Sports, these championships are somewhat overlooked as the winners are no longer invited to take part on the World Snooker Main Tour.

A rift with the WPBSA has led to the formation of the World Snooker Federation, controlled by the WPBSA, which is not recognised by the WCBS but does offer Tour Cards for winners.

For many though, the prize of a place on the main tour is somewhat secondary to winning the title of World Amateur Snooker Champion.

A common opinion is that the organisations controlling professional snooker should not get involved with the running of amateur snooker and the drive to secure a place in the Olympic program for professional snooker players appears to be having a seriously detrimental effect on the amateur game.

The names of the winners for 2019 will go on the trophies and nobody can take that away from them.